JDeveloper First trap when installing a new JDeveloper version

One of my tasks is to evaluate new JDeveloper versions. I have to say that it’s one of the tasks I really do like as I get the chance to try out new things🙂. OK I have to check if current applications are still running first.

I started installing JDev on my development machine, checked out the sources of the current applications and started compiling them and building adf libraries. At one point I got the below error message:

Error: An unreported error occurred in Appc. No errors were reported, but the tool returned a failure result code: 1.
Warning: <11.05.2012 16:40 Uhr MESZ> <Error> <J2EE> <BEA-160141> <Could not initialize the library C:\..\..\..\oracle_common\modules\oracle.jsf_2.0\jsf-ri-20.war. Please ensure the deployment unit is a valid library type (war, ejb, ear, plain jar). \..\..\..\oracle_common\modules\oracle.jsf_2.0\jsf-ri-20.war (Das System kann den angegebenen Pfad nicht finden) with : \..\..\..\oracle_common\modules\oracle.jsf_2.0\jsf-ri-20.war>
Warning: <11.05.2012 16:40 Uhr MESZ> <Error> <J2EE> <BEA-160187> <weblogic.appc failed to compile your application. Recompile with the -verbose option for more details. Please see the error message(s) below.> 
Warning: [J2EE:160147]One or more libraries could not be processed. See error above.

Interestingly the message complains about a war file ‘jsf-ri-20.war’ at a location which I never use for JDev. I never install JDev on drive C on a Windows system. All applications are installed on a different drive (P in my case). The reason for this is the the ‘system11.’ folder was created in my personal ‘application data’ folder which resides on drive C. As this path has spaces on my Windows system I normally move the ‘system11.’ on drive P. To archive this I set the environment variable JDEV_USER_DIR to ‘P:\jdeveloper\system’. When starting JDev the next time the ‘system11.’ is generated in the folder ‘P:\jdeveloper\system’.

After this change I tried again and got the same error, only this time the path started with ‘P’. The path to the jar file C:\..\..\..\oracle_common\modules\ made me think again. This path is normally part of the ADF Runtime installation on a WLS server. In this case the integrated WLS which comes with JDev.

Well, at the time I tried to compile a project containing an ADF Task-Flow into an adf library. Interestingly the rebuild process somehow needs access to the ‘jsf-ri-20.war’. Problem is that I had not created the integrated WLS. This is done the first time you start the integrated WLS (debug or normal).

After starting the integrated WLS the first time the path gets created and my ADF Task-Flow compiles OK.

I installed JDev in various version hundreds (more or less) of times but never stumbled upon this.

Leave a Reply

